Latest News For Alumni MyYB


< Back
June 4, 2024

YouthBuild USA Celebrates 2024 Directors Award Honorees at National Directors Association Annual Meeting

From left to right: Sara Silva, President, National Directors Council, YouthBuild USA Affiliated Network; Frank Alvarez, Director of Training, R.U.T.H. YouthBuild; John Valverde, President and CEO, YouthBuild USA.

Six YouthBuild program leaders recognized for their passion
and dedication to the young people they serve. 

At this year’s National Directors Association meeting in Washington D.C., six YouthBuild leaders received 2024 Directors Awards before a crowd of 148 of their peers.

The awards celebrate program leaders across the YouthBuild movement who demonstrate clear impact at their local program, support their students in achieving their ambitions, and provide leadership for the entire YouthBuild network.

Director of the Year
Frank Alvarez, R.U.T.H. YouthBuild – Canoga Park, California

Innovator of the Year
Sabrina Davis, Building Futures YouthBuild – Godfrey, Illinois

Support of Young People
Tomel James, YouthBuild Gary – Gary, Indiana

Global Impact Award
Tere Lanzagorta, YouthBuild México – Mexico City, Mexico

Service and Solidarity to the YouthBuild Network
Jerrell Morton, Job Point’s YouthBuild – Columbia, Missouri

Rising Star
Karen Rios, YouthBuild Waukegan – Waukegan, Illinois

The NDA comprises one program leader serving as a voting member from each affiliated YouthBuild program. The NDA meets each year to elect committee representatives, engage in peer-led workshops, share best practices, plan legislative and advocacy work, and provide support for programs. The NDA carries out much of its work through the National Directors Council in partnership with staff of YouthBuild USA, including the president and CEO. 

“YouthBuild students around the world are able to reinvent themselves because of the love, support, and quality education and training they receive from their local program,” said John Valverde, president and CEO of YouthBuild USA. “Program leaders foster community and opportunity for the young people they serve, transforming lives and communities every single day. We celebrate these honorees for contributing so greatly to the YouthBuild movement.”

Share this page: